Introducing Shanti Devi – the only woman mechanic in India


This is what I call a real woman.

Metro

Mother of eight Shanti Devi is believed to be the only woman mechanic in India.

She also employs her 55-year-old husband Ram Bahadur.

The 50-year-old, who lives on the outskirts of Delhi, not only runs a home, but has run her garage for 18 years, working 12 hours a day, seven days a week.

‘I love my job,’ she said. ‘It’s hard work but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’d be bored if I was sat at home.’

They used to run a tea stall on a main truck route and, while just surviving on their takings, saw the potential in learning the motor trade.

With her encouragement they decided to learn the basics from a friend and invested all their savings into buying tools.

Now they earn 48,000 rupees (£650) a month in the peak summer months, where some only manage 2,000 rupees (£26).

‘I’ve managed to…

View original post 80 more words

Leave a Reply

