Day 4 – road trip


I woke up nice and early to explore the town of De Rust before hitting the road again. Its a very small town, most of the properties are small holdings, Most of the towns people who I saw at that early hours of the morning were coloured labourers (it seems) and white home owners of pensionable age. There were many properties for sale. Other than Farming and accidental tourism, I don’t think there’s much else happening. It is a pretty little town. A nice place to spend a quiet weekend. Across the road from where I slept was a small holding with two donkeys standing near the fence. Donkeys seem to have the same attitude as cats. They ALLOW you to give them some attention when they want you to.

Vivitar

De Rust Donkey 1

Vivitar

De Rust donkey 2

Vivitar

Shop in the main road De Rust

Vivitar

Jacuranda trees and their purple blossoms are a full up in the little town of De Rust

Vivitar

De Rust street view

Vivitar

A house that stood out from the rest – De Rust

Vivitar

a small stream flowing from the waterfall – Meiringspoort

Vivitar

eerie tree roots alongside one of the cool pools leading from the waterfall – Meiringspoort

Vivitar

Meiringspoort waterfall

         Vivitar

Before leaving De Rust, I made a big fat mess on the floor with my meal replacement shake powder which I had brought with on the trip. I left a big I’m sorry note next to it. I hope they didn’t struggle to clean it up.

 

Leaving De Rust, I hit Meiringspoort pass again through the Swartberg mountains in search of the elusive waterfall which I didn’t manage to find the day before. I am in awe of that mountain. I’ve seen fold mountains in pictures, but to be able to see them with my own eyes and be riding between them is breathtaking. Meiringspoort is a 20km long curvy mountain pass! A huge and rare treat with a motorbike. There is a river – not sure of the name – which meanders in such a way that it crosses underneath the road more than 20 times! I didn’t go all the way over the pass this time – I did that the day before. On the way, to the waterfall there is a small monument. Its named ‘Herrie’. I decided to stop to see what it was about. Turns out its a place where CJ Langenhoven, a South African writer and poet carved the name Herrie in a rock and jokingly attributed it a monument to himself. Herrie was an character elephant from one of his writings. CJ Langenhoven is most famous for writing the old national anthem of South Africa which forms the (translated) English and Afrikaans part of the new anthem. The carving in the rock was done in 1929. Its was named as a monument several decades later after Langenhoven’s death.

 

About 6 km furher into the pass there is a massive rest stop on the pass. Its is named for the waterfall which I did not find the day before. What a beautiful surprise this waterfall was. I left my bag helmet and leathers with the caretaking staff and climbed up to see the waterfall.

 

Nature is truly the most talented artist. Humans can only try to immitate. The walk up is about 5 mins. All the way you hear the waterfall, the soung getting louder and louder, then you see some shallow pools flowing into each other and then turning the last corner, you see it! Its overwhelming. I have no words that can do it justice. We are so lucky that this is a free place to visit. Its the perfect place to picnic and swim for the day. The waterfall complex is contained inside a sheltered cavity in the mountain. Very very beautiful. There are so many unexpected surprises here. I spent about an hour playing about in the cool water. One thing that I feel disappointed about is that people can be so arrogant and destructive. I got the smell of piss both at the waterfall and in the cango caves. WHY would anybody pee there except out of spite?

 

It was then time to head on out towards the coast again, but not before patching the cheap ass bag I bought from Mr Price. The bag started falling apart from day 1, but it was the whole strap that pulled loose. Luckily I had bought a small sewing kit in that little seaside town on the way to cape agulhas called Struisbaai.  When I got to Oudtshoorn to get myself a DIY lunch at the supermarket, I also got myself a decent backpack. And transferred all my goods to the new bag, leaving the tattered one next to the closest rubbish bin. Then I hit the road again towards George. Along the way is the beautiful Outeniqua mountain pass through the Outeniqua mountains. The paving is a bit jagged along the way in a few places, so its best to take it slow as not to make a silly accident and kill yourself rushing through the bends. The scenic mountain view is to die for! I had to stop along the way to get a few fotos – although a photo can never do it justice.

 

After getting to George, I toyed with the idea of making Sedgefield my final stop. My friend mentioned that it is a quiet, coastal town, however, I could not see the sea from the road, so I decided to ride on to Plettenberg bay. I’s stayed over there in a backpackers about 10 years or so ago, and I mostly remember I swam at a beach from heaven not far from the backpackers. Th rest is a blur. When I got there though, it was not as I expected. It just felt eeky, but driven by my happy memory, I stopped at Amakaya backpackers to ask about a dorm bed. There a lady with gold teeth in her bek (mouth) told me in a very laxidazy way that it was the matric rage. Basically thousands of matriculants flock to the town after completing their final exams and party their hearts out. This was enough to send me back the way I came from. Tired as I was, I drove the 60 or so km back to Sedgefield where I found the perfect backpackers right by the sea. The beach is an uninterrupted 14 km long. Its paradise! So here I will stay until Saturday morning when I’ll head back home.

Leave a Reply

